Board of Governors

The Federal Reserve is managed by seven Board of Governors appointed by the President and approved by the Senate. The current Chairman is Janet Yellen.

The Federal Reserve System

Federal Reserve

No other federal government creation is more misunderstood than the Federal Reserve System.  The Federal Reserve’s primary purpose is to act as the central banking system for the United States.  Formed in 1913, the Federal Reserve was tasked by Congress with three primary functions.  One – maximize employment in the United States.  Two – stabilize prices (control the inflation rate) and three – influence the interest rates for long-term notes.  Since 1913 the Federal Reserve has expanded its role to include setting the monetary policy and regulating the entire US banking system.

Follow by Email